Home > Uncategorized > Drifting Towards Screenland

Drifting Towards Screenland

As a newish writer – not ‘new’ anymore with my almost three year involvement – I’m still learning the ins and outs of the trade. My latest discovery is Final Draft 8, a slick software package that allows numerous shortcuts for the creation of ‘industry standard’ script formatting without lifting one’s pinkies from the keyboard. It’s magic.

Awhile ago, I was asked to convert a script to a story and expand it to novel length. I did it and learned a lot in the process. Now, I was challenged with the reciprocal; converting a story into a script. The formatting must be precise and uncompromising to even be considered by agents or TV and film producers. To vary a smidgen from the rigid form is to invite instant round filing. So, I acquired Final Draft 8 (the latest iteration) and studied, studied, studied until I mastered the macros. Once mastered, it’s a dream to use.

My next challenge is to write a story directly into script form from scratch. Wish me luck.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment